At under £1000, the hard question is not which bike has the best spec. It is which bikes you are actually allowed to ride.
This is the price band where non-compliant imports cluster, because a twist-and-go throttle is a cheap way to make a budget bike feel powerful, and it is the single feature most likely to take that bike outside the law. A bike that fails the test is not a bicycle in the eyes of the law. It is a moped, and it needs registration, tax, insurance, a licence and an approved motorcycle helmet before it touches a public road.
So every bike below has been checked against all four road-legal tests before being recommended, and the ones that failed were removed from this guide rather than listed with a caveat. Four popular budget bikes did not make it, and they are named at the end with the reason.
The four tests, briefly
A bike is an electrically assisted pedal cycle (EAPC), and therefore treated as a bicycle, if:
- It has pedals that can be used to propel it.
- The motor's continuous rated power output is no more than 250 watts.
- The motor stops assisting at 15.5mph.
- It cannot be propelled to 15.5mph without pedalling, unless it holds vehicle type approval.
The fourth is the one that catches otherwise-compliant bikes, and it is almost never stated plainly on a listing. Our UK e-bike law guide sets out all four in full, including how to spot a throttle that a listing has not admitted to. Every bike we have verified against them sits in UK Road Legal (EAPC).
You must be 14 or over to ride an EAPC. You do not need a licence, tax, insurance or registration, and a helmet is not a legal requirement, though it is an obvious idea.
The five, compared
| Bike | Price | Wheels | Battery | Claimed range | Gears | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Touroll U1 | £449.00 | 26" or 29" | 36V 13Ah | Not stated | 21-speed | Not stated |
| Fafrees Hailong One | £499.00 | 26" | 36V 13.5Ah | 45-55km | 21-speed | 23kg |
| VARUN M27-1 | £569.00 | 27.5" | 48V 13Ah (624Wh) | Up to 62 miles | 21-speed | Not stated |
| Fafrees F28 PRO | £649.00 | 27.5" | 36V 14.5Ah | Up to 110km | 7-speed | Not stated |
| HITWAY BK7S PRO | £899.99 | 27.5" | 36V 12.8Ah (460.8Wh) | 50-80km | 21-speed | ~27kg |
Prices checked September 2026 and they move about at this end of the market, so treat them as a guide rather than a quote.
The picks
1. Touroll U1 Electric Mountain Bike, £449
The cheapest road-legal full-size bike here, and the most reviewed by a distance at 201 ratings and a 4.3 average, which matters more than it sounds when most rivals at this price have a handful of reviews or none.
A 250W hub motor with 45Nm of torque, a 36V 13Ah removable battery and 21-speed gearing. On the throttle question it is clean: a button-activated walk-assist capped at 4km/h, not a twist throttle, so it stays well inside the walk-assist allowance rather than testing it. Available in 26" and 29" wheel sizes.
Best for: first e-bike, tight budget, and anyone who wants a track record behind the purchase.
2. Fafrees Hailong One Electric Mountain Bike, £499
View the Fafrees Hailong One →
The light one. At 23kg it is genuinely easier to lift onto a rack or carry up a flight of steps than most of this class, which tends to sit between 25 and 30kg. Spec is strong for the money: 250W with 45Nm, an IP54-rated removable 36V 13.5Ah battery, 80mm of front suspension travel, 160mm mechanical discs, 21-speed Shimano gearing and StVZO-compliant lights fitted as standard.
No throttle and no electric-only mode, so the compliance picture is unambiguous. The catch is range: 45-55km claimed is the shortest here, and this exact listing has no reviews yet and comes from a single third-party seller rather than Amazon directly.
Best for: riders who have to carry the bike, and anyone whose rides are short enough that 50km is plenty.
3. VARUN M27-1 Electric Mountain Bike, £569
The best range-per-pound on the list. A 48V 13Ah (624Wh) battery is nearly half as big again as the 36V packs around it, and VARUN claim up to 62 miles in pedal assist. The 250W motor puts out 55Nm, the most torque here, which shows on climbs. Aluminium frame, 27.5" wheels, front suspension, 21-speed, mudguards and a USB port, plus a companion app for speed and battery.
No throttle fitted as standard, confirmed against VARUN's own site rather than the Amazon listing, which describes a vague "Boost Mode" that a buyer could easily mistake for one. Stock was limited at the time of checking.
Best for: the longest rides you can get for under £600, and hilly routes.
4. Fafrees F28 PRO Step-Through City E-Bike, £649
The only step-through frame here, and the reason to pick it. If swinging a leg over a crossbar is the thing standing between you and riding, this solves it, and nothing else on the list does.
It also has the longest claimed range at up to 110km from a 36V 14.5Ah battery that locks with its own key so it can come indoors to charge. Front suspension with lockout, mechanical discs, four frame colours. The 7-speed drivetrain is the weak point next to the 21-speed bikes below it on price, and there is no throttle at all, not even walk-assist, so you cannot nudge it along without pedalling.
Best for: riders with limited mobility or flexibility, and long flat commutes.
5. HITWAY BK7S PRO City Commuter, £899.99
The most commute-ready bike here and the only one that arrives genuinely finished: lights, rear rack and reflective rim strips all fitted, so there is no second shopping trip. 250W, 25km/h cut-off, 21 gears and a 36V 12.8Ah (460.8Wh) removable battery quoted at 50-80km. NFC card and app unlocking means no key to lose, with fault diagnostics on the bike.
It is also the rare budget listing that states both the 250W rating and the cut-off explicitly rather than leaving you to infer them. Against that: roughly 27kg, mechanical rather than hydraulic brakes, few reviews and none from UK buyers, and a listing that muddles specs between the 27.5" PRO and the 29" PLUS, so check which variant you are ordering.
Best for: daily commuting where the bike needs to work out of the box.
How to choose between them
- Cheapest road-legal bike with a real track record: Touroll U1, £449.
- Best range for the money: VARUN M27-1, £569.
- Lightest, if you carry it: Fafrees Hailong One, £499, at 23kg.
- Step-through frame: Fafrees F28 PRO, £649. It is the only one.
- Ready to commute on day one: HITWAY BK7S PRO, £899.99.
What we left out, and why
These four are widely recommended in this price bracket and all of them fail the throttle test. None is illegal to own, or to ride on private land with permission, and all four are decent bikes on their specification. But each can be driven to full assisted speed without pedalling, which means type approval, and none of the listings shows an approval number.
- DUOTTS C29, £699. Fitted with an electric half-handle throttle that drives the bike without pedalling, which is where its quoted 50-60km "pure electric mode" range comes from. Also now delisted.
- Finbike 26" Electric Mountain Bicycle, £467. Has a dedicated "Throttle Only" riding mode good for up to 40km without pedalling, and the assist limit is described as unlockable to 32km/h. Also now delisted.
- URLIFE 14" Folding E-Bike, £329.99. Amazon's own specification field reads "Pedelec and Throttle-on-demand", and URLIFE quote a separate 20-40km electric-mode range against 40-60km in pedal assist. Two ranges means two modes.
- URLIFE 20" Fat-Tyre, £569. The listing says pedal assist only, but a verified-purchase review reports a plug-in throttle cable supplied in the box for off-road use. A throttle that ships with the bike is enough to keep it out, even unfitted.
If you want one of these anyway, that is a legitimate choice for private land or for a bike you intend to get approved. It is just not the same purchase as a bike you can ride to work tomorrow.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need insurance to ride these on UK roads?
No. All five bikes above meet the EAPC rules as sold, so the law treats them as bicycles: no insurance, no tax, no registration and no licence. That changes entirely if you fit a throttle, remove the speed limiter or buy one of the four bikes in the section above. A derestricted bike is a moped from the moment you derestrict it, not from the moment you are caught.
Are sub-£1000 e-bikes worth it, or should I save up?
For short and medium daily distances, yes. Above £1000 you are mostly buying motor brand (Bosch, Shimano STEPS, Bafang mid-drive), build quality and after-sales support. If your annual mileage is under 2000km, this is the right tier to start in. What you should not do is trade compliance for spec: a £450 legal bike is a better buy than a £400 bike you cannot ride on a cycle path.
Can a 14-year-old ride one of these?
Yes. The legal minimum age for an EAPC is 14, and all five qualify. Worth knowing if you are buying for a teenager, because the non-compliant bikes in the section above would need a driving licence, which rules them out entirely at that age.
How long do the batteries last?
Good lithium-ion cells last 500-800 full charge cycles before noticeable capacity loss, so roughly 3-5 years for a typical rider. Every bike here has a removable battery, which means you can replace just the battery later instead of the whole bike. Check spare-battery availability for your chosen model first, because budget brands rarely still sell them five years on.
Battery capacity or motor power: which should I compare?
Capacity. The 250W ceiling is fixed by law, so motor ratings barely differ between compliant bikes and tell you almost nothing. Real range comes from watt-hours, which is volts multiplied by amp-hours. The VARUN's 48V 13Ah works out at 624Wh against the Hailong One's 36V 13.5Ah at 486Wh, and that gap is what you actually feel.
Can I get one on Cycle to Work?
Not through these Amazon listings. Cycle to Work runs through approved retailers such as Halfords, Tredz and local bike shops. If the salary sacrifice saving matters more to you than the headline price, start there instead.